Politburo of the CPC

The Politburo, previously known as the Central Committee, is a group of 25 members who oversee and dictate the policies of the Communist Party of China (CPC). The true power of the Politburo is centralized within the Politburo Standing Commitee (PSC), a small group of the most powerful members of the CPC. The Politburo derives its authority from the fact that its members simultaneously hold state positions in People’s Republic of China (PRC), and thus have access to the government agencies and departments. From open source information, it appears as though the group meets once a month, while the PSC meets at least once a week. ​

Appointment to the Politburo

The Intelligence Ledger has determined that potential Politburo candidates are elected through deliberations by current Politburo members and retired Politburo Standing Committee (PSC) members. The process is significantly easier to understand than the PSC appointment process, which is unclear to this organization.

Members of the Politburo

The Intelligence Ledger has provided readers with a list of current Politburo members below:

  • Xi Jinping

  • Li Keqiang

  • Li Zhanshu

  • Wang Yang

  • Zhao Leji

  • Wang Huning

  • Liu He

  • Han Zheng

  • Ding Xuexiang,

  • Wang Chen

  • Xu Qiliang

  • Sun Chunlan

  • Li Xi

  • Li Qiang

  • Li Hongzhong

  • Hu Chunhua

  • Yang Jiechi

  • Yang Xiaodu

  • Zhang Youxia

  • Chen Xi

  • Chen Quanguo

  • Chen Min’er

  • Guo Shengkun

  • Huang Kunming

  • Cai Qi