Central Military Commission

The Central Military Commission (CMC) is a parallel organization that exists within both the Communist Party of China (CPC) and government of the People’s Republic of China (PRC). This body acts as the highest command echelon for the People’s Liberation Army (PLA), China Coast Guard Bureau (CCGB), People's Armed Forces Maritime Militia (PAFMM), and Chinese People's Armed Police Force (PAP). Thus, The Intelligence Ledger estimates that the CMC directly oversees nearly 6,750,000 personnel.

Technically speaking, there are two Central Military Commissions: one within the CPC and one within the government of the PRC. The difference between these two groups is largely technical, however, as both are identical in membership and answer to General Secretary Xi Jinping. As such, The Intelligence Ledger does not make a major distinction between the two bodies.


The current Central Military Commission is composed of seven men, most of whom have been chosen based on ideological soundness and military excellence.

Xi Jinping; General Secretary; President

Xi Jinping is the current General Secretary of the Communist Party of China (CPC) and President of the People’s Republic of China (PRC). As one of only three individuals to have their name enshrined in the PRC’s constitution, Xi s arguably the most influential leader of China in decades.

Zhang Youxia; General (PLAGF)

Zhang Youxia is a general in the People's Liberation Army Ground Force (PLAGF) and acts as a Vice Chairman of the CMC. As a veteran of the 1979 Sino-Vietnamese War, he is one of the few members of the PLA with combat experience.

Xu Qiliang; General (PLAAF)

Xu QIliang is a general in the PLA Air Force and is a Vice Chairman of the CMC. By honing his skills as a pilot, Youxia escaped a life of peasantry to become one of the most important military figures within the People's Republic of China.

We Fenghe; General (PLARF)

Wei Fenghe is a PLA Rocket Force general, state counselor, Minister of National Defense, and member of the Central Military Commission. Described as driven and focused by those who have interacted with him, Fenghe has proven himself a useful asset to General Secretary Xi Jinping as he seeks to expand the PRC's influence abroad.

Li Zuocheng; General (PLAGF)

Li Zuocheng is a PLA Ground Force general, head of the Joint Staff Department, and seat member of the CMC. During the 1979 Sino-Vietnamese War, Zuocheng served as a PLAGF company commander. While participating in the conflict, Li was injured but refused to be transported away from his unit. As a result of his courageous and honorable service, he received the First-Class Merit Citation by PLA High Command.

Miao Hua; Admiral (PLAN)

Miao Hua is a PLA Navy admiral, director of the CMC Political Work Department, and seat member of the CMC. The Intelligence Ledger has been able to confirm that the majority of Hua's career has centered around ideological enforcement and political commissar positions.

Zhang Shengmin; General (PLARF)

Zhang Shengmin is a PLA Rocket Force general, Secretary of the CMC Commission for Discipline Inspection, Deputy Secretary of the State Central Commission for Discipline Inspection, and seat member of the CMC.